I made a sweater for my older daughter for Christmas. I was excited that she asked for one, very surprised, but thrilled, since she usually gives whatever knitting I show her a passing glance and says, “pretty”. That’s it, nothing more, nothing less, you can see the disinterest all over her as she says it. The sweater she asked for was a cardi, (dark purple, three-quarter sleeves, a little short in the body, to look cute, with one button), was born in a wool shop in Lubec, Maine, where we vacationed this past summer.

I was excited, thrilled, euphoric and must have asked her about fifty times, “are you sure? you really want me to knit you a sweater?” The answer, every time, was a very definite “YES!” I went back to that wool shop (there wasn’t much to do in that pretty and tiny town) and found some beautiful Green Mountain Spinnery wool in a rich purple, slightly heathery shade. I bought 3 balls. I showed her those skeins and she loved the color, I’m sure she had an idea what they were for.

Fast forward a few weeks. I spent about an hour looking at patterns I thought would suit her taste and age, and narrowed it down to three cardis. I called her over to the computer and

    SHE CHOSE A PATTERN

. I began working on it while she was in school, soon realized I needed more wool and promptly ordered it. Then ordered some more. This cardi was garter stitch and just chewing up the wool, but was oh so pretty. I managed to finish it with hours to spare, and proudly wrapped it and tucked it lovingly under the tree.

Christmas morning, she has her little pile of gifts around her, and slowly, methodically opens each one. We open youngest to oldest and she loves to torment her older brothers by going slowly. She gets to the sweater, opens it, looks at it, and says “pretty”. The kiss of death from this child when it comes to knitted items. I was crushed. Asked her if she like it, “yeah” she says and takes it upstairs where it is lost in the bowels of her room until the other day, when she hands it to me and says, “you can pull that out and make something else mom, I don’t like it anymore.” I could have cried, but I remained strong and took it from her, putting it in my work basket of future projects.

IMG_1310

    !
    That’s the sweater, so cute, exactly what she asked for, and now she hates it. I’m just glad I never sewed the button on, that may have sent me over the edge. Soon I will rip that sweater out and make a cowl for a friend of the family, who loves dark purple and did something wonderful for my kids at Christmas time. She doesn’t know it’s coming, so I hope she likes it. The pattern I plan to use is here: http://www.lionbrand.com/patterns/L30096.html?noImages=

    In other news, the pi shawl is finished and blocked.
    IMG_1308

    happy day,
    shannon

frog pond

Image

Leave a Reply

