i am a fickle knitter

I am fickle and faithless when it comes to projects.  There is no longer any doubt in my mind.  Last we spoke I wanted to cast on this http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/haruni  after I finished a baby jacket (achieved!  yeah!) and this http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/easy-v-neck-shell.  I finished that too, on Saturday, a week later than expected, but it’s finished and I love it.  Can’t wait to wear it.  I wanted to post a pic, instead i’ll post a link to the really crappy cell phone picture I put on my ravelry project page http://www.ravelry.com/projects/whip1up/easy-v-neck-shell.

The Haruni has been slightly derailed, for two reasons.  Make that three ( I think).  One, I had to cast on for yet another baby jacket, same pattern I’ve linked to in a previous post, for my sister’s niece, who just had a sweet baby boy last week.  She’d been asking for it forever, and I kept forgetting to get it started.  I now have the body of the sweater done, just need to whip through those tiny little sleeves!  I want to have it ready to mail by Thursday of this week.  (Cross you fingers on that one happening!).  Two, My LYS is starting a KAL today for (here comes another link) http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/elianette, and I decided I wanted to do this.  It’s pretty, doesn’t look like it’ll take six months and I’ve never worked with Dream in Color before, so I figured why not.  Of course, I can’t get to my LYS until Thursday (seeing a small theme here, I’m off on Thursday and will be able to get OFF my mountain!) to get the yarn I need for this, so i’ll be starting it a bit late.  And finally, three.  Three is I saw this http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/the-lonely-tree-shawl.  Saw it, fell in love with it (I am drawn to leaves right now!), immediately went stash diving and came up with two skeins of Berocco Ultra Alpaca (there’s that alpaca thing, again), took my girls to the pool after work and cast on poolside.  I am working this one in a turquoise color that I love.

This one has turned into a prayer shawl, of sorts.  While taking a quick knitting break and cruising facebook, I saw an alarming post about a cousin of mine, called my sister, we started contacting those relatives that would be in the know and found that one of our younger second cousins is in the hospital, and not doing well at all.  She just had twins, she’s in a medically induced coma and on a ventilator.  She’s young, maybe 35.  I used to babysit her when we were kids.  I don’t get to see my family from Philadelphia often (issues with getting me off of my mountain, but that’s a whole other story).  She’s beautiful and vibrant, has other children.  We aren’t sure of the why of the situation, only what is.  As I continued to work on this, all of my thoughts were on my family, who I can’t physically be there for, so all of my wishes and prayers and positive thoughts are being shoved into every stitch.  In my mind that makes this a prayer shawl.  I will send it to her mom when I finish it. 

Please send your positive thoughts our way that they figure out what’s going on and can help this beautiful young woman and her immediate family.

 

happy day!

Shannon

Standard

Leave a Reply

