let’s add quitter to the list!

Yup, that’s right, I have officially given up on a project. I don’t think I’ve ever done that before, but I feel good about the decision. I have frogged, for the third and final time, Elianette. It was a beautiful piece of knitting, and I did like it, a lot. I could not cope with the changing stitch numbers. I have found that I like consistent stitch counts in my knitting. Maybe it’s lack of patience, or maybe lack of skill, either way, it was kicking me in the gut with every change, and I’d frog, or tink, recount, reknit, and still come up crazy. I couldn’t do it any longer. It was depressing and demoralizing. I realized last night I did not have to be held hostage by this piece of knitting (are you getting the same mental image I was? It involved knots, loose yarn and lots of needles, with teeth. We won’t discuss the actual knitting mocking me.) I frogged, balled and looked for a new pattern, that has nice even stitch counts on every row. I feel better now. The pattern for Elianette was well written and charted, I just couldn’t handle all those numbers.

I was able to get some pictures yesterday, and I will attempt to add them here.

IMG_9788
This is the shawl I will be mailing to my cousin whose daughter is still desperately ill, but recovering nicely. She still has a very long road ahead, but she’s fighting! Here’s the link:http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/the-lonely-tree-shawl

IMG_9793

I love this cowl. I almost want winter back right now so I can wear it. I made it in Cascade Ultra Alpaca (we all know I adore alpaca. I want one.) It was a quick and simple knit I thoroughly enjoyed. Link is here:http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/structured-alpaca-cowl

IMG_9797
These are the latest socks off the needles, the ones I took everywhere with me, but when school ended I kind of ignored them. I put another two days of work into them and bingo! new socks. This is just a 1×3 rib, with a cable tossed in, just because. My daughter really doesn’t like knitted things, so this picture was the best I could get! And no, I haven’t woven in the ends yet, it’s too hot to wear these, but I would, if they were truly finished. You see how I play games with myself? I need to add about six more pairs of socks before winter this year, how I don’t know, but I’ll try!!

In that vein, I am working on a new sock pattern. I love it, I am enchanted, I even had to frog and start completely over, and I am still in love! That is remarkable. That is this pattern: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/anemone-22. I really really like this pattern. It is clear, well charted, well written, and has easily adapted to using worsted weight instead of the recommended weight. To achieve this I reduced the cast on number by 8, and so far, so good! They may be a bit baggy around my ankle, but I can live with that, I don’t mind some slouch in my socks, and really, I have ankles like bird legs (ridiculously skinny ankles). Love them, go check them out! I don’t have a picture yet, I frogged before getting the camera out yesterday, and it’s once again wet out today.

happy day
Shannon

Standard

4 thoughts on “let’s add quitter to the list!

  1. Sometimes a project just wasn’t meant to be. I think it’s great you cut your losses rather than continue to get frustrated.

    Thank you for the kind words on Anemone! I hope it’s working out now!

    • Anemone working out well with 56 stitches, though I did put it aside to deal with this lace issue I was having. I just couldn’t stand the thought of ending up having to throw that yarn away because I’d ruined it.

Leave a Reply

