sweaters on my mind…..otherwise known as…..binge shopping coming soon!!

Let me start by saying that I’m currently working on a sweater that I am not a fan of.  lt’s based loosely on Mr. Darcy (http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/mr-darcy), as in I am following the instructions for the sweater dimensions and number of stitches, but not the stitch pattern.  There is a reason for this….the yarn is lion brand homespun, of which I am really not a fan, with a bit of the lion brand thick and quick (I don’t mind this yarn at all, it just hurts my hands after a while working with it) thrown in.  This sweater is for a gentleman that comes to my barn regularly and asked me to make him a sweater, and being that he is a truly amazing, genuine and good person, I said of course.  He picked out the yarn that made him happy, so there we are, with yarn I hate being turned into a beautiful sweater.  If I can figure out how to post a pic to this entry from my phone (I am currently on the desktop) I will, if not I’ll throw it in another post.

On to the fun stuff!!  I have my next several projects all picked out, right down to the wool I plan on buying tomorrow (I hope, if not, then next week).  First up we have Graphite, http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/graphite-5, that I’ve had in my queue forever!  I even bought yarn for it, but have realized, with all that I’ve learned over the last year about knitting and sizes, I failed to buy enough yarn.  It’s all good, though, I plan to make a different sweater from that yarn, I just don’t know which one.  So for this I will be buying Ella Rae Classic Sport, which I love.  I’ve done a couple of baby sweaters in this wool and fell in love with it.

Next up…Mailin http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/mailin.  If I could design a sweater for myself, this would be it.  I love this sweater and can not wait to start it.  I plan on getting Imperial yarns for this, but of course don’t recall which, I lost the ball tag from the skein I bought for a hat.  The yarn was just lovely to work with, and knits up nice and soft, and has plenty of warm to it.  I haven’t’ decided on the color yet, but I am leaning toward blue.  Originally I wanted to use cascade 220 superwash quarto for this, then realized the quarto wasn’t heavy enough.  Did I despair?  Absolutely not!!  I just picked a different sweater for that wool, plum rain, http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/plum-rain.  There is a little back story to this yarn: I ordered a bunch of balls of this yarn wen it was on sale at WEBS, all different colors, for socks.  I just made a pair of these:http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/rivercat-sock in color 1955 and just loved the color and decided it would be perfect for a sweater, and the hunt began.  Mailin seemed a good match, but I am not talented enough yet to substitute different weight yarns, so the hunt continued and I found plum rain.  I am happy all around.

Might I add, please, that I have not bought one bit of yarn in nearly two months, because I know I wanted to buy several sweater’s worth at once. It  has been KILLING me!  I ran into my LYS and bought a pattern book, just to have an excuse to touch all the pretty wool!!

Stitching continues on Ethereal Diamonds and Haruni when I need a break from the acres of homespun.

happy day!

shannon

Standard

3 thoughts on “sweaters on my mind…..otherwise known as…..binge shopping coming soon!!

  1. Funnily enough I have just been planning on what I wanted to make over the next few months and it all involves me buying sweater quantities of yarn! Enjoy the binge 🙂 (perfectly justified after 2 months abstinence)

Leave a Reply

