Reality will set in….

Tomorrow is  our last day of vacation.  I will be happpy to get home to see my puppies, and slept in my own bed.  I will miss being on the outer banks of North Carolina.  This is one of my most favorite places ever.

image

I will miss these sunsets…

image

And the sunrises on the beach with assorted children.  This has become a special vacation tradition whenever we are at the beach.  Each morning I wake early, go and collect whichever kids put in a sunrise trip request, jump in the car or walk to the beach and watch the sun come up.  I have been doing this for many years and it never gets old.  I think the kids enjoy it also, since it’s completely voluntary to go with me.

image

I will miss the egrets, like the one in this terrible picture.  (See that tiny white blur?  That’s the egret I see in the sound as I write this post).

We have been busy this last week.  On Wednesday most of us went crabbing and caught about a dozen crab for a snack for those that enjoy crab meat.  From there my daughter’s and I went to to Buxton, on Hatteras Island to go horseback riding on the beach.

image

image

What a fabulous experience for my girls!  They loved it and I loved watching them experience this.

There have been many laughs and much silliness, mixed in with enormous meals that take forever to prepare and seconds to consume.  We have 10 kids on this trip, ages 11-19.  They eat….a lot!  I love having these annual family trips to spend time with my nieces and nephews, sisters, their husbands, my parents and my own husband and kids.  There is a lot of craziness, but we always have so much fun.

Happy day,
Shannon

Standard

Leave a Reply

