A long while!!  First the puppies kept me busy, then life just happens and things just get away from me.  Work is getting busier with the warmer weather, and things like training and bathing the horses, cleaning trails and fields; just generally gearing up for our busy season as we slog through mud season.  Add to that that I have managed to mysteriously destroy my right shoulder somehow and it’s easy to let things go.  

Last week had me at the orthopedic with pain in my shoulder.  I do have a little arthritis, and a tiny bone spur, but that’s not what’s bothering me.  Nope….i have a rotator cuff injury.  Most likely a small tear.  Oh joy!  A cortisone shot, 2 Aleve twice a day and physical therapy for two weeks, then back to the doctor to see where I am pain wise.  I can tell you now, not great….i have been very limited with motion in my right arm and it hurts, pretty much all the time.  I am allowed to work for now, and even ride, as long as I don’t use that arm; I have to keep it against my body.  Not an easy thong to do working with horses!!  My first therapy appointment is this afternoon, I am not anticipating much fun.

But, I have been knitting!  I’m also allowed to knit,  thank god!, or I’d be going insane!  Finished a dragonfly sock, and nearly thought the leg on the second.  I would love to show you a picture, but none of them are uploading.  Grrrrr.

I’ve also been working on my reversible cable rib wrap.  Which I also can’t show you today.  I’ve been so happy with this knit…..until last night.   Last night I noticed I totally bothered up the cable sequence, badly.  I miscounted somewhere and now have a gaping hole of plain kribbing, for like, a mile.  I’m not sure I can add a lifeline and save it.  It will be going into time out for a little while until I can look at it without wanting to stab myself with the needles.  This has been a very long knit, bit an enjoyable one.  Perhaps the yarn is unhappy in this pattern?  Maybe I’m getting bored with it?  I didn’t think so, but maybe.  In the meantime I’m going to start the twisted shawl by Andrea Hilton.

My knitting has been taking a beating, two weeks ago Loki,  that adorable puppy (whose picture I can’t show you right now), pulled my boneyard/grain shawl right off the needles.  ( basically I was combing the two patterns, making eyelets instead of a ridge).  I could not recover that one at all.  And now this huge mistake in the cables rib wrap.  At least I’ve learned to roll with the punches when it comes to these things!

Happy day,

Shannon 

So it’s been awhile

Image

Leave a Reply

